Liv Holi Interior Design & Brand Identity Design Restaurant

Core concepts of Feng Shui

Feng Shui originated in China some 5,000 years ago and literally translates as “wind and water.” It is the art and science of harmonizing with one’s environment and heavenly influences.

Ch’i (or Qi)

The vital Life Force energy in all things and that animates all of existence. Ch’i exists everywhere; its flow is considered the universal energy between heaven and earth. It is also the movement of life force energy within our living space or body, which can affect our well-being positively or negatively. Feng Shui addresses the movement and containment of Ch’i to create the most beneficial support for a person in their environment. 

5 Elements

The Elements are Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal, and Water. Interaction between these elements and qi/chi form the foundation theory for achieving Feng Shui balance. Each element exists in a yin and yang form and governs a specific aspect of life. 


This diagram originates from the I Ching and the Lo Shu. In Western Feng Shui, the Bagua map is used to divide your space into nine separate areas—each one relating to a certain theme. The center square is considered the heart of the home, where the energy is distributed to all the different sectors. Each of the 8 trigrams is called Gua. Each of the eight houses is named by a trigram, and points to a specific direction, element, color, shape, symbol, location and other life aspects in resonance with that trigram sector. Each gua in the environment connects the energy of the occupants and reflects it either in a favorable or unfavorable manner. 

The Bagua is like a treasure map to our lives. It provides us with a simple checklist for manifesting our best intentions in all aspects of life.

Elevate Your Email Experience with a Fresh Approach

Be the First to Stay Informed about Building Wellness. Discover holistic Design Solutions and Well-being Tips that Enhance Your Health and Well-being. Sign up Now!

    We respect your privacy.